5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2013 2:04 PM by philmodjunk

Temporarily edit data in a layout?

ErinO'Rourke

Title

Temporarily edit data in a layout?

I have a script that someone else set up that pulls data into a layout, and at the end the data is fully modifiable while in Browse mode. Any changes made there are not permanent and don't affect the data in the records.

I would like to set another script to have this capability, but don't know how. Is it done in the script itself, or in the layout?

• 1. Re: Temporarily edit data in a layout?
          philmodjunk

Sounds like their script copies the data into other fields and that these fields probably have global storage specified. Since you are editing a copy of the data, the edits will not affect the original unless you use a script to copy the edited data in the global fields back to the original field.

• 2. Re: Temporarily edit data in a layout?
            ErinO'Rourke

Would that be difficult to do? I am fairly new to writing scripts.

• 3. Re: Temporarily edit data in a layout?
              philmodjunk

I am fairly new to writing scripts.

You better learn, setting up FileMaker solutions without creating scripts is like rowing a boat with only one oar. wink

You'll likely want to invest in some time and maybe $$ learning more about FileMaker Scripting. There are books, training materials and even free youtube videos on the subject.

It's more than a script, though, you first have to define the needed fields. Let's pretend that there is only one such field to edit--a text field. Doing this for more than one field is pretty easy to figure out from how to do it for one field.

1) Define a new text and use field options to set it up with global storage. For this example I'll put it in a table named "Globals" and Call it "EditText".

2) Create a layout and place Globals::EditText on that layout.