1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2011 8:25 PM by Sanyi

text operator

Sanyi

Title

text operator

I am kinda new to filemaker here. I am trying to filter out an inventory list of items by big or small. So I created a field called category with big and small value. I made a portal then specify filter portal record by category. Now I am not sure how to script it, I put something like "InventorybyCatalog::Category = Big" but it gives me and error. Also not sure if this proper way to filter out. Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: text operator
          philmodjunk

If you are selecting or entering "Big" in the InventorybyCatalog::Category field to designate the "big" items, use this expression:

InventorybyCatalog::Category = "Big"

Note the use of quotation marks.

• 2. Re: text operator
            LaRetta_1

To add a bit ... portal filtering will produce records if the calculation test returns true; it is Boolean test.  There is no script.  Filtering happens on portal setup.

- - - modified (late night)

• 3. Re: text operator
              Sanyi

It kept showing me empty field. I am not sure if I do this correctly. It seems that I can only pull data from related table. I am not sure what does this do but I went on to create new table called "inventory 2" where the data source is from "inventory". Then I made new relationship between them by defining item = item. Then I created a portal and specified filter condition by defining InventorybyCatalog::Category = "Big", and show related record set to inventory 2. Then add Category and item fields to the portal.

Can someone explained what went wrong and what is the function of creating related table? Thanks again.

• 4. Re: text operator
                Sanyi

After playing around for a few hours, it works now but after filtering, the filtered data is shown as an empty line with a list view. Is there a way to truncate the empty line?

• 5. Re: text operator
                  LaRetta_1