3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2014 7:07 AM by philmodjunk

text reporting

LarsGrieten

Title

text reporting

Hi,

I'm new to filemaker and I'm currently working in a hospital where I build a small patient follow up application. Based on a protocol the nurse has to run through and where she can check several boxes. for instance:

[   ] tired

[   ] fever

[   ] swollen feet

If a checkbox is checked the field is filled with a boolean value (1 or nothing). What i would like to do is to have a summary field in the end of the layout where a text content is filled based on the checked boxes. for instance:

[ X ] tired

[   ]  fever

[ X ] swollen feet

Summary field:

the patient we contacted had the following symptoms: he was tired, he had swollen feet. please follow the required instruction for treatment....

This field the nurse can copy and paste in the medical record for storage. up till now i had no efficient way to solve this problem and i'm hoping for some help on this!

Thanks!

• 1. Re: text reporting
          philmodjunk

I suggest the following calculation. It won't produce exactly what you ask for as the phrasing is simpler, but it should be acceptable:

This assumes that you have a single field formatted with these check boxes. I'll call the field "YourCheckBoxField".

Define your calculation to be:

"The patient we contacted had the following symptoms:  " & Substitute ( YourCheckBoxField ; ¶ ; ", " ) & ". please follow the required instruction for treatment...."

Using your example, this will produce:

the patient we contacted had the following symptoms: tired, swollen feet. please follow the required instruction for treatment....

Leaving out the pronouns and verbs makes for a much less complex expression.

• 2. Re: text reporting
            LarsGrieten

Hi,

Thanks for the reply, however this was not entirely what I am looking for.

I'll try to explain it further:

for instance:

Field 1 = checkbox [  ] Doctor

Field 2 = checkbox [  ] Caregiver