Skip navigation
    1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 5, 2010 9:02 AM by philmodjunk

Three Part Search Problems

RichAbbott

Title

Three Part Search Problems

I am fairly new to filemaker and have run into a few problems. On  my main layout page I have created a self referencing portal that  contains the following fields in order:

Date
      Machine I'D
      Staff
      Client
      Address
      Foreman details
      Start time
      End time
      Truck used
      Attachments
      Materials
      Comments
      P.o.*
      Job type

I am using the portal, because I was meant to believe that is the only  way to have a list where the user can keep adding lines of information.  *It is unknown as to how many lines will be needed for each day. *On  another layout I have set up the same fields as a means of entering new  records for the main page. This is where I have start to run into a few  problems. As the post heading suggests, there are three issues I need  help with. I will separate them into parts to make it easier to follow.*

Part one
      Search records
      The main page is set up as a way to view the activities for a date. When  the user clicks a button, it takes them to the second layout (Add  details page). Again this has all the same fields as the main page. When  the user enters all the info and clicks the ok button, I want it to  search all previous records, find the date they have entered, and if it  exists, and the information on the next line of the portal. If it  doesn't exist, create a new record with the information. Right now it is  creating a new record for everything, even ones with the same date. Can  some one suggest a script to help with this?

Part two
      Search on main page