5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2012 10:25 AM by philmodjunk

Time-Dependent Automated Email Script

RobMad

Title

Time-Dependent Automated Email Script

Hi all,

I am new to FileMaker and was asked by my company to write a script that will automatically generate an email at midnight for those with appointments in ten days.  I've never written a script before and from what I can learn, it is not the easiest one to start with.  Any help would be appreciated!

Here is what I have:

Perform Script [CheckEmail]

Set Error Capture [On]

If (Admin::DateAppointment)-Get(CurrentDate)=10)

If [Get(FoundCount) = 0]

Exit Script []

End if

Set Error Capture [Off]

Go to Record/Request/Page [First]

If {$$MailerType = 2)

Loop

Perform Script ["SMTPit_Initialize"]

If [Trim(Admin::EmailH1)<>"" and PatternCount (Admin::EmailH1: "@")]

Set Field [Globals::SMTPit AddressTo: Substitute (Admin::EmailH1 " ": "")]

Set Field [Globals::SMTPit Message;"Dear Admin::Envelope1, blahblahblah"]

Set Field [Globals::SMPTit Result; External("SMTP-SibjectAssign:; "Appointment Reminder")]

Set Field [Globals::SMPTit Result; External("SMTO-Send"; "Transcript="&Globals::SMTPit Transcript")]

If (PatternCount(Globals::SMTPit Reslt; "ERROR") = 0]

End if

End if

Go to Record/Request/Page [Next; Exit after last]

End Loop

End if

Any help or thoughts would be MUCH appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Time-Dependent Automated Email Script
          schamblee

This script only checks the appointment date on the current record then you go to the first record  and perform your loop.  I would think you would need to check each clients appointment date therefore it would need to be inside the loop.  I'm not sure what mailer type 2 is but I would assume this is something that would also need to be checked with each client record, which would also mean it would need to be inside the loop.