1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2008 8:59 AM by JeffIsHereToo

too many employees making filemaker slow

djfobia

Title

too many employees making filemaker slow

Hi, 

We run a business with around 10 sales staff all accessing filemaker server in our office all day at the same time for quotes, purchase orders, etc etc, and we are all getting beachballs (time delays) on our macs, which is slowing the business down.

Does anyone have any tips that may speed things up, as i am quite new to this. Much appreciated. 

We have a mac G5 with 4gb memory as a server, and are all using imacs with 2gb memory, some staff have fm8 some have fm9, the server is fm server 8. 

• 1. Re: too many employees making filemaker slow
          pmconaway

I'm not sure that I have a solution for you but I do have some questions. First of all 10 employees shouldn't be a problem for Filemaker Pro Server.

My Questions:

1. You gave us the hardware cofiguration (FMP server and clients) but how is the database configured? How many tables? Are there a lot of records in specific tables? Are your employees doing the same thing? (i.e. everyone is creating quotes) 

2. The G5 running as the server, is there anything else running on that computer that might be competing for CPU cycles? 

More details. 

• 2. Re: too many employees making filemaker slow
            djfobia

hi, many thanks for getting back to me.

We have 46 tables, with literally 1000's of records, and yes all staff are doing the same thing. Would this make it slower then?

Regards, Dave

• 3. Re: too many employees making filemaker slow
              djfobia
                 oh and on the last point, the server only runs fm server, nothing else..
              • 4. Re: too many employees making filemaker slow
                TSGal

djfobia:

I'm not sure what is occurring internally with your database, so it is difficult to determine what is causing the slowdown.