2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2015 8:27 AM by AndrewClancy

Total based upon fields in another table from multiple records?

AndrewClancy

Title

Total based upon fields in another table from multiple records?

So I've been banging my head against the wall trying to figure out how to setup something like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShjAjB4Sxvg

where my calculation field will look through several fields in another table (I believe a "child" table, though I am new to filemaker and could be wrong about how it's related... ) and then find and add the relevant fields based upon another field in the same table (so for instance if the Name field in my parent table match's the Name 1 field in the child table it will add Name 1 Amount and so on). However when trying to make this work the calculation field will only consider the fields in the record whose ID matches it's own. So for the first record in the parent table instead of checking Name 1 fields in all the records of the child table, it will only look at the first record. 

In the above linked tutorial the instructor indicates that simply referencing a field from the child table in the calculation will make it be considered an array and consider all of the values from all of the records. Do you think perhaps it's the fact that I've related the table based off of the IDs? Because I really cannot figure out why the tutorial is having such different results.

• 1. Re: Total based upon fields in another table from multiple records?
          philmodjunk

Sounds like you have a single record where you really should have several so that you only have one name field and associated amount to a given record. Then you can set up a relationship that matches by two pairs of fields, on for ID and one for name.