5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2012 9:25 AM by philmodjunk

Total Count of 1 Field Constrained by another Field

bookman

Title

Total Count of 1 Field Constrained by another Field

What does a calculation look like that counts the number of records with aDate Created 2012 but omits or is constrained by a field called Selected as a Previewer?

Should the field type be a Calculation or a Summary?

The result should be a Number.

I keep getting error messages re: field doesn't exist, wrong function, or needs an operator.

I am a novice, this is the first time I've tried to create a calculation, but I'm good at following directions.

I'm guessing my errors are related to the  "parentheses" or the position of "not" or the "2012" in the Date Created, or whatever.

The attachment shows my last attempt.

Please help.

Mel

Post1.png

• 1. Re: Total Count of 1 Field Constrained by another Field
          philmodjunk

You can't JUST use a count function or JUST a summary field. For a count function to selectively count records, you'd need a relationship that matches only to the records you want to count. For a Summary field to selectively count records, you need to design a layout and produce a found set with the appropriate sort order in order to get the count of records.

And if you have FileMaker 12, there's a third option: Execute SQL that can selectively count records for you.

What version of FileMaker do you have and what do you want to do with this count?

• 2. Re: Total Count of 1 Field Constrained by another Field
            bookman

Hi Phil,