3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2009 2:20 PM by Sorbsbuster

Total newbie to databases needs help with something simple!

Photega

Title

Total newbie to databases needs help with something simple!

Hi All

I know this should be simple but I just cant find a simple description in the user manual on how to do this!

I am creating a database which allows me to track items which are brought into the shop for repair, they are then sent out to various repairers dependent on the product. I have created 2 tables one which is effectively the form for input of the relevant information, ie customer details, equipment and repairer that it needs to be sent to!

The second table is simply a table relating to the repairers used, the fields are the repairers name, their address and their phone number, all of which are also in the first table, what I want to be able to do is select from a drop down list the name of the repairer in the first table and it automatically complete the address and phone number taking the details from the 2nd table thus saving me having to enter this manually each time, which seems like a simple task but I just cannot make it do it  :smileymad:

Any simple step by step clues would be great.

Cheers

• 1. Re: Total newbie to databases needs help with something simple!
          Sorbsbuster

Hi Photega,

Yip: in Filemaker it's dead easy.

You have two tables: ItemsforRepair and Repairers.  Go to File -> Manage -> Database.

In The 'Tables' Tab  go to the ItemsForRepair Table.  Where you have any details about the Repairer, except for their unique ID, you can delete them.  (Don't bother yet, though.)   You will be able to show, as you want, all of those details automatically.

Go to the 'Relationships' tab.#

- In the list of fields in the 'ItemsforRepair' table you will see the unique ID for each Repairer - in this case you are using the RepairerName as the unique identifying field.