10 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2011 1:00 AM by Bowster

Total of calculated values

Bowster

Title

Total of calculated values

This will be a simple question, sorry.

Mac OS10.6.7 FM Pro 11

I have made a report in list view of sorted records and calculated values for those sorted records.  The calculated values are unstored, because they contain a 'GetSummary' function.  I want to find the total of the calculated values.  The Sum Function applied to the name of the calculated value field returns the last value, not the total of all the values.  I am a newbie in FM, but quite good in Access, where I must admit I found this particular exercise a lot easier.  

I would appreciate someone's guidance on this.

Many thanks

• 1. Re: Total of calculated values
          philmodjunk

Most people that are familiar with Access find learning FileMaker a bit extra frustrating as they have to "unlearn" the Access method even as the learn the FileMaker equivalent (which can be very different) for accomplishing the same thing.

Much depends on the design of your layout and how you need to organize data in your report. You indicate that you have a list view layout. That suggests that you may not need the GetSummary field unless you are using summary fields in a calculation and need to access subtotals for specific groups of records in your report.

To get sub totals for your report, you can actually use just the summary field, but place it inside sub summary layout parts. You can then put the same summary field in a grand summary, Header or Footer layout part to display the grand total for all the records in your found set. The trick is to sort your records in a sort order that includes the field specified as the "sorted by" or "break" field in the setup for the sub summary part.

Here's a tutorial on summary reports you may find worth a look:

Creating Filemaker Pro summary reports--Tutorial