3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2015 7:35 PM by MacDevGuy

Tracking attendance at multiple events over time

FlorenceMiller

Title

Tracking attendance at multiple events over time

I'm new to Filemaker Pro. So far I've managed to create a database for the membership of a professional network I manage, giving each member a MemberID key.

I have an Excel spreadsheet indicating which members attended our many events over the years. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get this information into my database. I've figured out that this is a many to many relationship (each member has been to multiple events; each event is attended by multiple people). I've given each event an EventID key, with the idea that somehow I can create a join table. (I'm including a screen shot of that EventID and MemberID table in Excel.)

But that's as far as I can get. I'm sure I'm missing something really obvious; I just can't figure out it with my limited knowledge of Filemaker Pro, and the Missing Manual I'm using doesn't give me enough info.

Thanks for any guidance.

Screen_Shot_2012-09-20_at_2.15.30_PM.png

• 1. Re: Tracking attendance at multiple events over time
          davidanders

Google "event join attendance site:forums.filemaker.com"      Threads on these forums
          https://www.google.com/search?q=event+join+attendance+site%3Aforums.filemaker.com

LINK#
          http://forums.filemaker.com/posts/404122a451?page=1

Very informative thread with deSaint providing great help and demo databases for download that evolve over time

• 2. Re: Tracking attendance at multiple events over time
            philmodjunk

You need three tables:

Members----<Member_Event>------Events

Members::MemberID = Member_Event::MemberID
                 Event::EventID = Member_Event::EventID

The structure of the data in your spreadsheet presents a problem for getting your data in the correct place.