6 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2013 8:39 AM by philmodjunk

Tracking history of price changes for a client

jrobgk1

Title

Tracking history of price changes for a client

• 1. Re: Tracking history of price changes for a client
          SteveMartino

I'm far from an expert, but I think you may need to provide a little more info to get someone to help/respond

• 2. Re: Tracking history of price changes for a client
            RiteshGupta

Hi jrobgk

I think u should create a lookup field for Tracking history of price changes.

Thanks
                 Ritesh Gupta
                 Mindfire Solutions
                 India

• 3. Re: Tracking history of price changes for a client
              jrobgk1

wow...sorry about that.  clearly, filemaker doesn't make you clairvoyant.  

The situation is this: we track the rate that we charge clients in Clients::BillingRate  It occurs that instead of creating a new occurance of a client when we increase their billing rate, we would need to figure a way to track the history of the rate, OR, be able to apply special rates as events warranted.

What I was thinking was to create three billing fields, which would have a dollar figure applied to it, then a radio button set to turn a rate on or off.  a third calculation field would then hold the field and then paste it into the event record as a global value at the time the event was booked.  Whenever the rate was changed in the client record, you could then see the adjustment in the individual event records.  I will probably add date fields to the billing fields to track when the rates were bumped one way or the other...

other thoughts on a good way to do this?

• 4. Re: Tracking history of price changes for a client
                philmodjunk