4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2014 9:23 AM by philmodjunk

Tracking incoming inventory parts from multiple item receipts

CraigFink

Title

Tracking incoming inventory parts from multiple item receipts

I am a contractor who inventories most of there products to be sold.  I am attempting to to track from PO(stock ordered ) to item receipt (Stock received).  I have a diagram that goes from PO Table to PO Line item table to track each individual part ordered. Then, I have a table Item Received that is related to the PO To Track the different shipments received to fulfill  the PO.  Here is where I start stumbling.   Since all line items or all the quantities of each line item are not necessarily fulfilled on one item receipt is the reason I have an additional table for item receipts.  What I do not see is how , since each PO and each PO line item can have multiple item receipts, how I can Track Each line item from the PO to see if it has been fulfilled.   I have seen other examples where they do not track the individual item receipts but I would like to because these item receipts are generally turned into bills when they are received.

Any input would be great as I also want to use the same methods for outgoing to the different jobs

Thanks, Craig

• 1. Re: Tracking incoming inventory parts from multiple item receipts
          philmodjunk

Best guess at your relationships:

ItemsReceived>------PO----<POLineITems

PO::__pkPOID = POLineItems::_fkPOID
               PO::__pkPOID = ItemsReceived::_fkPOID

Seems like you would really need this set of tables/relationships, however:

ItemsReceived>----ShipmentsReceived>-----PO----<POLineItems

And this could need even one more table if a single received shipment fulfills at least part of more than one order....