1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2012 11:55 PM by gullfounder

Traversing through portal line item

gullfounder

Title

Traversing through portal line item

Hi,

I am very new in File Maker Pro. Trying to learn it. But recently i have encountered a problem. I wanted to make very simple script. I have made a layout with portal in it and a button. A script is attached to the button. When all the required data has been putted.  Client will press the button to trigger the script.

A script will simple traverse through the line items and update the inventory.

Here is what i have written in the script.

"Go to Portal Row [First]
      Loop
      Set Variable [$id; Value:Sale Detail::_fkproductID]
      Set Variable [$qty; Value:Sale Detail::Quantity]
      Exit Loop If[$id=User Prefrences::null]
      Perform Find [Specified Find Requests:Find Records; Criteria:Sale Detail::_fkproductID: “== $id”] [Restore]
      Set Field [Product::ProductInStock; Product::ProductInStock - $qty]
      Go to Layout[original layout]
      Go to Portal Row [Next]
      End Loop"

Kindly help me fix it.

• 1. Re: Traversing through portal line item
          GuyStevens

Maybe you should first explain what it is you are trying to do.

What table is your layout based on?
          What table is your portal based on?
          What is the relationship between the two?

I don't understand the Exit loop step.

My perform find steps are always split up in three (or four) steps.

- Enter Find Mode
          - Set Field (Sets a specified field with a calculated result. The calculated result could ba a variable)
          - Set Error Capture (optional)
          - Perform Find

Also, if you want to to inventory you could set up a table that contains:

- A product ID.
          - An "Amount added"
          - An "Amount Sold"
          And fields that add up the Amount Sold and Amount Added and calculate the "Amount In Stock"