4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2013 5:31 PM by AndrewCohn

Trouble with << brackets >>

brianpatterson

Title

Trouble with << brackets >>

<<Brackets>>

I'm learning by working with the starter solutions. Many have headers on layouts in the format << fieldname >> linked to formula. What is the meaning of the brackets?

Forum procedure question

I've noticed that one user, Scott P, will be emailed when I post this. How did that happen?

• 1. Re: Trouble with << brackets >>
          AndrewCohn

Hi Brian,

I'm a Filemaker newbie myself but I think I can answer your question.  I'm hoping we're talking about the same thing.  The <<brackets>> you are referring to are a Filemaker feature called Merge Fields.  Merge fields are a method for combining strings from multiple fields into a single, uneditable field for display purposes.  In the database I help support (I didn't build it) they are used a lot for things like addresses, and on invoices and printinglayouts.  Let's say you have fields on a Customers table layout for Customer::FirstName and Customer::LastName, and you need to create a layout for printing Invoices for those customers.  You can then combine the the first and last names using a merge field <<Customer::FirstName>><<Customer::LastName>> and it will display the customer's full name properly no matter if their name is John Smith or Apu Nahasapeemapetilon.  Since "regular" fields don't resize themselves for strings of different lengths, this is useful for diplaying information on layouts that do not require data entry.

Does anybody on this forum more experience than me have anything else to add?

• 2. Re: Trouble with << brackets >>
            schamblee

You are correct they are Merge field.  I wouldn't use it to combine firstname and lastname , I would use a different method. 

http://www.filemaker.com/help/html/create_layout.9.23.html