5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2014 8:37 AM by philmodjunk

Trouble with basic DB design

PaulTeplitz

Title

Trouble with basic DB design

Hi folks:

I am a self-taught FileMaker Pro user, and I'm having trouble designing a new DB to capture a component of my organization's work. I was hoping someone here could help me with the basic design.

I run a collegiate outdoor program (we send students out into the woods on backpacking trips, canoe trips, and so on).  I am trying to design a database to handle our food planning and purchasing operations.  

RIght now, I have four main tables, laid out as below:

1. Food Items. Information related to a given food item (i.e., vendor, price, pack size, amount per person per meal, etc).

2. Menu. I want to be able to create a menu that describes the food for a given trip.  The point here is to have a menu type (i.e., standard menu, nut-free, gluten-free, etc). [You can ignore the "Menu Day" table - that is just to specify the various meals for the given days of a trip. I won't be using the info in "Menu Day" in any calculations, as it just exists for planning purposes.]

3. Ingredients list. This is the join table for Menus and Food Items.  Basically, there is only one additional field - Number of Times Eaten (i.e., if a trip will be having two burrito meals, the item "tortillas" needs to packed twice).

4. Trips. Each trip could have a different number of people. I want to be able to assign a menu to each trip, so it could automatically inherit all of the food items related to that menu.

The problem comes when I try to create reports for food packing and order.  Ideally, I want to have two "packing list" reports and one order report: