pdoak_1

Title

Trouble with summary fields

Background Info: I am using the following

1. Filemaker pro Advanced 11
      2. Mac OS X 10.6.5
      3. Single user mode
      4. I have been using Filemaker Pro for a couple of months

I have one table which lists client id's and client accounts numbers.  One client can have multiple accounts.  In another table, I have the client account nos, the balance on the account listed by date.

I have used the following join relationship:

Table1:RefDate = Table2:Date and

Table1:client account = Table2:client account.

However, I cannot seem to produce a layout which shows the client accounts and their corresponding balance for the chosen RefDate.  I can list the accounts but the balance field is blank.  In addition, I want to be able to show the total of all client balances for that day as a sub-total.  

I am sure that this must be simple but I just can't seem to get it to work.

• 1. Re: Trouble with summary fields
          philmodjunk

We need to know more.

Is your layout based on table 1 or table 2?

How have you set up your fields for deposits, withdrawals and the balance of the two?

In table two do you have multiple entries for given account on the same date or just one?

Do you want to see all the entries or just a single row for each account?

• 2. Re: Trouble with summary fields
            pdoak_1

The layout is based on Table 1.

Table 2 just shows the balance of each account

In Table 2, I have just have one entry per account per day.

I want to see the following:

Client ID 1

Account 1 £xxxx

Account 2 £xxxx

Client ID 2

Account 3 £xxxx

Account 4 £xxxx

Summary £Total of all balances for that day

• 3. Re: Trouble with summary fields
              philmodjunk
              1. Base your layout on Table 2 instead of Table 1.
              2. Put the needed client fields from Table 1 in a Sub Summary part "when sorted by Client ID" that "prints above" the body.