14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2009 1:32 PM by tuca

Troubleshooting Preview mode

tuca

Title

Troubleshooting Preview mode

Hi,

I am a scientist new to FMP, though with some experience in DB design. I am using FMP 8.0v2 in Mac OS 10.5. I have created a database with 7 tables, some of them have few records (such as study regions), others have hundreds of entries (such as specimens and observations), with various levels of details; the most complete table has 20 fields, but 4 of them are drawn from another table. All relationships seem to be working fine and the data/design can be viewed without problems on Browse, Find and Layout modes. However, only the first table can be viewed in Preview Mode. All the others appear as a blank page. How can solve that? I am concerned that later I might have troubles in printing reports or that part of the data might be missing. I tried all options in Layout Setup, but the problem persists. Which is (or are) my mistake(s)?

Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: Troubleshooting Preview mode
          mrvodka
             First I would definitely upgrade to 8.0v3. Second, could you post the exact tables, layouts, etc that you are having an issues with? Abstract names are hard to follow.
          • 2. Re: Troubleshooting Preview mode
            LaRetta_1

"... viewed without problems on Browse, Find and Layout modes. However, only the first table can be viewed in Preview Mode. All the others appear as a blank page."

Another possibility, and a common reason for 'blank page syndrome', is that you are creating reports with leading parts and sub-summaries.  And maybe your "first table" displays fine because it has no sub-summaries.   These types of reports MUST be sorted by the field specified in your leading part.  So if you have two leading parts, the first is Year and the second is Type, then you must also sort your report first by Year and then by Type.