1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 31, 2013 9:16 AM by philmodjunk

Two Questions - Value Lists and Layouts

ha-thrapp

Title

Two Questions - Value Lists and Layouts

Hi, I am relatively new to Filemaker Pro, and am struggling with two questions that I need to figure out so I can finish an inventory & asset tracking DB for work.

1) I have a value list that contains two items: "in stock" and "in use", the value list is being used with radio buttons to mark individual assets as either available for use or currently being used. I have set up my DB so that the individual asset tracking is related to the overall Product Inventory, and am using a portal to display the individual asset information (ie tracking numbers and availabilty) on the overall product description/inventory. Can I use these two options ("in stock" and "in use") from this value list (called "availability) to calculate the total number of available assets for a single product line, so that when "in stock" is checked for an individual asset that falls into a product category (lets say, black staplers), that single asset will be counted, along with all the other assets that have been checked "in stock" for said prodcut, towards my overall available inventory for that product, to be displayed in a field called "On Hand"?