7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2013 11:28 AM by philmodjunk

Two Table Relationship

YukioKina

Title

Two Table Relationship

Greetings all,

I'm new to FMP and so far feel like I'm doing fairly well with it.  I've been stuck on figuring out relationships and portals and lookups and all that stuff and I'm hoping someone might be gracious enough to help straighten this out with me.  I've done searching through the forums, knowledge base, Google and YouTube but not really able to make too much sense of it, especially in relating exactly to my need.

I have a database with two tables; events & contacts.  In both tables I have fields like first name, last name, home phone, mobile phone, etc. and what I'd like is to be able to enter client info into the events table and either continue manually entering the info, or if a record for them exists in contacts, have it automatically pull up their info and load it into the applicable fields in the events table.  In my searching, I've found that there are apparently a couple of ways to do this?  One of which will maintain a link between the info so that if I change a contact's info in the contacts table, it will reflect in the events table.  That would be my preferred method.  I'm just really not sure how to go about creating the relationships for it to do this.  I'm familiar with the relationships window, just not really sure how to create those relationships.

Thanks to all who took the time to read this, and an advance thank you to anyone who responds!

• 1. Re: Two Table Relationship
          philmodjunk

First you have to have tables and relationships in place that work for what you need.

Am I correct that a contact can participate in many events and that an event needs to be linked to many contacts?

If so, you have a many to many relationship and you need something like this:

Contacts-----<Contact_Event>------Events

Contacts::__pkContactID = Contact_Event::_fkContactID