7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2012 4:41 AM by Sorbsbuster

Typical FM pro setups for a small company

KoenDeSmet

Title

Typical FM pro setups for a small company

Dear,

I'm an IT administrator for a small company (5persons)  that whishes to implement a proper database for it's stock management.

Knowing FM from the past ,it seems like a good solution.

But there are some questions that need to be clarified before.

1. Is FM pro able to use an external database such Mysql to store everything ? - Meaning ,use only FM pro as an interface ,but store the content in a db-

2. Is FM Pro intended to be used by 1 user only , or is to possible to write with several FP pro instances into the same db ?

3. Is there somewhere some infrastructure examples for the setup of FM pro (especially with the use of multiple FM pro instances)

4. When to use FM pro ,and when to use FM server ?

Thanks in advance for the replies,

Koen

• 1. Re: Typical FM pro setups for a small company
          Sorbsbuster

1. Is FM pro able to use an external database such Mysql to store everything ? - Meaning ,use only FM pro as an interface ,but store the content in a db-

Yes.  But it could be that FM is perfectly capable of providing all your needs, with no need for another database

2. Is FM Pro intended to be used by 1 user only , or is to possible to write with several FP pro instances into the same db ?

FM is multi-user, and cross-platform.

3. Is there somewhere some infrastructure example for the setup of FM pro

If you download the 30-day trial of FM 12 you will get sample files you can check out.

You will need to use the Server version if you intend to have more than 9 simultaneous clients.  With 5 users you don't need to have it, although you may find some other advantageous features.

• 2. Re: Typical FM pro setups for a small company
            philmodjunk