3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2009 3:54 AM by kapitaen_1

Typing Unicode Fonts

papyrologist

Title

Typing Unicode Fonts

Hi,

I am using FileMaker Pro 10 on Windows XP, and I am quite new to it. I just imported data from excel, then I created a layout and choose Gentium as font for all fields. The old data are represented as Gentium now. But when I add new text into a field, something funny happens: I can type hacek, dotted and underscored consonants, spiritus lenis and asper, but when I type long a, i and u (with an overscore, ā, ī, and ū), the font switches to Arial, and I cannot change these three letters into Gentium later. Gentium does have this signs, they are represented correctly in other fields of the same file. I maybe have to say that I am using a keyboard designed by an assistant of the oriental institue to type these unicode characters, but it works perfectly, in Excel for example.

Can anybody help me? Thanks a lot

• 1. Re: Typing Unicode Fonts
          kapitaen_1

(no known solution, only wild guessing)

go to the edit menu, preferences, fonts, and try to set another font for  your entry system. Or try to play around with font option found there.

Did it help?

greetings from germany

Chris 

• 2. Re: Typing Unicode Fonts
            papyrologist

Hi Kapitän,