10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2013 8:59 AM by philmodjunk

UI help.

jpdoty

Title

UI help.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Filemaker and have a question about UI.  I would like to have a form with two columns, a list view with the details to the right.

Any reference or examples on how to do this would be appreciated.  Here is an image I found on what I'm trying to do.

Thank you,

John

FMScreenShot.JPG

• 1. Re: UI help.
          philmodjunk

I don't see any image. Either it is slow to appear--as is sometimes the case or perhaps the file format of the image file you tried to upload is not one of the file types listed next to the controls for uploading an image.

In FileMaker "two columns of data" would simply be two fields defined in a database table. Either a list view or a table view can be used to display such a list of records.

• 2. Re: UI help.
            jpdoty

Hi PhilModJunk,

The image appears on my computer, so I'm not sure.

I got the image from:

www.filemaker.com/developers/devcon/2011/updates/DES011.pdf

The image is about 1/2 way down titled:

Two Column: Search+List, Details

Thank you for helping me.

John

• 3. Re: UI help.
              philmodjunk

Ok, Now that the graphic finally showed up, I think you need to step back from the GUI design and think about your data model that provides the foundation for what you put on the screen.

I see information about a single person and their "Giving History". That suggest two tables linked in a relationship. Donors----<Donations that would be linked by a Donor ID. Your layout would then be a Form view based on Donors with your chart set up to chart data from Donations.

• 4. Re: UI help.
                jpdoty

That is correct,  I have my relationships set up and everything works correctly in form view (i.e. using a portal).  I would like my form to look like the one above.  My understanding so far is: the form used in the example is a (LIST VIEW0 is that correct.

Thank You,

John

• 5. Re: UI help.