1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2014 10:18 AM by JamesKnecht

Unique Job Number Based on Date

JamesKnecht

Title

Unique Job Number Based on Date

Having trouble getting this to work.  I read some threads here, but they are fairly old.   Our dBase system generates a job number, during order entry, which is a unique 11 digit dumber based upon year, month, day + a 3 digit number.  First number of the day would be 20140426001.  The 3 digit number resets every day.  At worst case, I can use a simple auto entry serial number, set to be unique & not empty, but we are used to our numbers telling us when the job was entered.

Any help would be appreciated & this will operate in a multi-user environment.  Please phrase your comments like you were talking to a child.  I am very new to Filemaker, but thanks to some help here, I have finished the customer file... and it is kick ass!

• 1. Re: Unique Job Number Based on Date
          philmodjunk

Such methods of generating a unique ID that "encode" additional info are not ideal Primary Keys. A Primary key is a field used to uniquely identify each record in a table so that it can be linked to other records in relationships. If you need such a value to support existing procedures and expectations, you can create a field to store such a value for labeling and search purposes, but don't use it as your table's primary key.

There are two methods that I can think of that could be used for this, both start from a date field that auto-enters the record's creation date. With one method, a script would be run every morning (this can be scheduled if you host from FileMaker server) that resets a serial number field back to 1 for the new day's series of values. The other uses a self join to produce the same result. (A self join links a record to other records in the same database table in a relationship.)

The self join relationship would match records by the auto-entered date value: