4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2014 10:11 AM by quietstorm

Updating a target field via portal

quietstorm

Title

Updating a target field via portal

I'm a newbie, and this is probably a problem with an easy solution; if its been asked before, I apologize.

I have 2 tables, a layout based on Table A, containing a Portal to Table B, and a separate container field (for photos) from Table B.

I want to be able to select a record in the Portal and have the container field in Layout A update its target to the record currently selected in the Portal.

How do I accomplish this? I've tried different script steps and nothing seems to work. 

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Updating a target field via portal
          philmodjunk

Before we talk scripts, we need the right relationships.

I will guess that you have these relationships:

Table A ----< Table B

Table A::__pkTableAID = _fkTableAID

There are two different approaches that can get what you request:

Add another table occurrence of Table B to your relationships

Table A -----< Table B | Selected

Table A::_fkSelectedRecord = Table B|Selected::__pkTableBID

A button in your portal could do this:

Set field [Table A_fkSelectedRecord ; Table B::__pkTableBID ]

A container field from Table B|Selected would then show the image from that portal row record.

Or you can define a new container field--either with global storage or just defined as a container field in Table A.

Then your script step would be:

Set Field [Table A::ContainerField ; Table B::Container Field ]

• 2. Re: Updating a target field via portal
            quietstorm

Those are the relationships I have set, yes. I think I like the second option, because table occurrences still confuse me. But how does Table A know which record from ContainerField in Table B to display? Just by selecting that record in the portal?

• 3. Re: Updating a target field via portal
              philmodjunk