3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2011 8:57 AM by SwagathNavinManohar

updating database automatically

SwagathNavinManohar

Title

updating database automatically

Hello all,

I recently started learning filemaker pro 10.0v3 (2 hours!!) on Mac OS X 10.5.8.

Here s my scenario :)

I get mails every 4 hours from a remote measurement site with measurement values. The files are in *.csv format and the filenames are XX-2011-00001.csv and YY-2011-00001.csv. These are data of two instruments continuously running with different sampling intervals. The files are stored in local folders.

I want to develop a script that would read a file (example: XX-2011-00001.csv) and uploads the data in the database and after updating the database the .csv file should be moved to another folder for backup purposes.  After 4 hours the script should run again and now read the new file XX-2011-00002.csv and append this data in the database. I want to make this script run in an infinite loop, such that the script checks for new file and adds it to the database.

The file contains ‘Date’ ‘Time’ ‘value’ fields.

Can you please help me in telling the commands that i should look into for writing this script and if you have any examples I would be really thankful.
      Thanks a lot for your help.
      Navin

• 1. Re: updating database automatically
          philmodjunk

How much experience with databases, and/or programming do you have? This can be done, but requires some scripting to set up.

Look up the following script steps in FileMaker Help or any training materials you have:

Install OnTimer (can be used to perform a script on regular intervals)
          Import Records (can be used to import your data from the csv file into your database)
          Set Variable (can be used to compute the file path to your file in a way that increments with each import.

The basic out line is to write a script that,