3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2011 4:41 PM by philmodjunk

Updating multiple records in a portal

CynthiaVasquez

Title

Updating multiple records in a portal

Hello,

I'm very new to FileMaker Pro and it would be safe to say I'm in over my head. But, I'm bound and determined to make this work!

I'm creating a publicity database and I'd like to be able to update multiple records in a portal. This contact has received two review copies. I'd like to be able to update the "Followup1" box with a date (For example, I would followup to those who received MDOM on the same date), but I only want this date to show in the row that lists MDOM. When I choose "Replace Field Contents" for Followup1 it updates the date in all fields for Followup1 where a Book Code is listed. (In this case both A4CS and MDOM)

Am I going about this the wrong way?

Thanks so much for your help!

FileMakerScreen.jpg

• 1. Re: Updating multiple records in a portal
          philmodjunk

Please tell us more about your database.

What tables have you defined?

How are they related?

In particular, how id you set up this portal in terms of relationship and portal set up options?

I would assume that "date" in your screen shot records the date a review copy was sent out to a recipient?

Do you know how to create fileMaker Scripts?

• 2. Re: Updating multiple records in a portal
            CynthiaVasquez

Hi!

Thanks so much for responding! No, unforuatenly I don't have any experience with FileMaker Scripts. I'm moving our company's publicity database over from *gasp* Approach 96'.