AnsweredAssumed Answered

Updating very very old Filemaker database

Question asked by TroyGowen on Oct 11, 2010
Latest reply on Oct 29, 2010 by philmodjunk

Title

Updating very very old Filemaker database

While I have used FMP10 to do some nifty things in the past, I am an admitted novice with databases and am stumped over what may prove simple to experienced uses.

In the sports museum of which I am the archivist, we have had an interactive database in the galleries that allows visitors to call up the results of major tournaments.  The database is well over 10 years old, written with an antiquated predecessor to Filemaker, using an ancient Macromedia Director as the interface on a touchscreen monitor, and huffing along on a Macintosh G3 from circa 1998.

I have managed to export the data from the database and imported all the fields to a shiny new FMP10 database, and I would like to rebuild the database with a fresher interface on a newer computer and touchscreen before the diesel powered computer finally sputters to a halt.

Here's my challenge--I have figured out how to redesign the part of the database that allows users to call up the tournament name and then scroll through the winners (Ex: French Open/Men's Singles = winner/loser/score/year), but I cannot figure out how to allow the user to do a search by player.  What I need, it seems, is a way for users to select a letter leading to a list of alphabetized players from which the user can then select a specific player to scroll through the records of his or her wins.  That is, choosing the "A" button results in a list of all the A players, which can then be selected one at a time to scroll through the records for that player.