1 Reply Latest reply on May 19, 2014 6:14 AM by philmodjunk

Updating, adding and displaying entries in Portal rows

MfgMfg

Title

Updating, adding and displaying entries in Portal rows

Hi, i'm new to filemaker but i know the solution to this question must be in this forum somewhere, still i couldn't find it after two days of searching, so excuse me asking this.

I have three tables
           - artworks
           - exhibitions
           - contacts

and a forth "join" table 
           - join
           with fields only for three foreign keys relating to the other tables (and a primary key).

Artworks can be shown in many exhibitions, and sold by a contact (a gallery) to another contact (a collector).
           Exhibitions do have one or many artworks on display, and do have a contact (address etc.).

I managed to display a single entry of Artworks in a Portal in the Exhibitions layout and the other way around, a single Exhibition in a portal in the Artworks layout, but i cannot figure out how to display related records automatically (e.g. select an exhibition title from a drop-down menu and then have the exhibition date and venue display automatically in that portal row - this acutally works sometimes but is not updating after changing in the drop-down menu)

and i cannot figure out how to add a second row to this portal.

Also, I have a suspicion that three tables is one to many to be linked to a join table? Any suggestions towards the general setup of this would be really appreciated. And i hope i'm not mixing up two completely different questions here.
           Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Updating, adding and displaying entries in Portal rows
          philmodjunk

Are these your relationships?

Artworks---<Join>-----Contacts
                                       |
                                       ^
                               Exhibitions

Artworks::__pkArtworkID = Join::_fkArtworkID
               Contacts::__pkContactID = Join::_fkContactID