9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 28, 2011 8:44 AM by brian.curran

Use a portal to update a table?

brian.curran

Title

Use a portal to update a table?

Hi,
      I'm new to FM but have built some basic databases using MS Access. I'm using FM Pro 11 Advanced and FM Go (iPad).

I'm struggling to get my head around Portals, as I'm unsure how to use them to update tables. They look great for updating related data though. I have the following structure so far:

ARCS
      _kp_arcs_id
      company
      address
      city

SITES
      _kp_site_id
      _kf_arcs_id
      company
      address
      city

The Relationship is 1-Many from SITES to ARCS. 1 site can only have 1 arc but each arc can have many sites.

My Issue:
      In the Sites form, I want to select a 'company' from the 'ARCS' table using a drop-down list. This action should then copy the _kp_arcs_id into the _kf_arcs_id. Then, a portal would show the 'address', 'city' and any other data fields from the relevant ARC entry.

Is this possible? Any tips/suggestions on how to achieve this would be great, many thanks...
      Brian. 

• 1. Re: Use a portal to update a table?
          Sorbsbuster

It would be more conventional in a one-to-many like that to add a Site from the Arc, rather than create a Site and then try and attach it to an Arc.

The way you would do that is to have a portal to Sites in the Arc layout and set the relationship to 'Allow Creation Of New Records'.  The last line of the portal will be blank, and you can add the info directly there to create a new site for that Arc Record.

If you want to see the Arc data on the Site record you can simply add the fields of detail that you want to see from the Arc record.  As there is only one match then showing the data from its relationship will show you the data from the only record that matches - its parent.

There are other ways to create a child Site from a parent Arc if that way doesn't suit you.

• 2. Re: Use a portal to update a table?