5 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2012 2:29 PM by alexjeane

Use Global Text Field to Find Records

alexjeane

Title

Use Global Text Field to Find Records

We have a list of email addresses that need to be searched for in one of our databases.  Instead of going through one by one, I've heard there is a way to set up a global text field, put in a list of email addresses into it, and through some magic of scripting search through that field for all records with that contain one of those email addresses.

I am mostly confused on how to set this all up.  I have a global text field, but not sure what exact sort of script is necessary to search through that field and compare it with another.

Would anyone have an idea of where to start?  Bear in mind, I am just beginning to learn FileMaker and still learning all the appropriate terminology.

• 1. Re: Use Global Text Field to Find Records
          philmodjunk

Here's a possible script. Please read the notes that come after and feel free to use Post A Answer to post commetns or ask any follow up questions about the script that you may have:

Say you have a global field named: YourTable::gEmailAddressList--a text field where there is a return separating each address in the list in this field. Furthermore, there are two ways to read your description of this problem.

1) You might want a script that finds records with the first address, does somethihg with them, then finds reocrds with the next listed address,  does something with them and so forth....

2) You might want to pull up a single set of records--called a found set--of all records that contain the first listed email addres OR the second email address OR the third... Etc.

The script used would be slightly different for each option. I'll assume 2) for this response.

Go to layout [//select a layout based on the table you want to search for these email addresses]
          Enter Find Mode [] // clear the pause check box
          Loop