7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2009 3:22 PM by philmodjunk

User access to file

Ttops

Title

User access to file

Please bear in mind that I am very new to databases and Filemaker.

I have created a small database with data entry layouts for users to enter the data.  What I am not sure of is how do they pull up the program so all they see is the screen they are supposed to access? 

I have set user accounts and privileges I just still don't get how my user will actually turn their computer on, access the program, and have FM ask for a password then open the file so they only get into what I created for them and not into my file that allows me to make and edit layouts, etc.

I'm sure this isn't very clear so feel free to ask more questions in order to clarify the question.

Thanks

• 1. Re: User access to file
          MikePR_1

Ttops:

I will be useful if you tell us what operating system and what version of Filemaker are you using. 

• 2. Re: User access to file
            ninja

Howdy Ttops,

Welcome to the forum.

It's all one Dbase, not different files.  What you CAN do is lock them out of where they shouldn't be.  Do this by defining where they can be in thier privelege set.

Take some time and look through the Records>Custom Privileges, Layouts>Custom Privileges sections of Privilege sets.  They are pretty well self-described.  you can choose what layouts/Tables/Records a privilege set has access to.  You can also exclude the ability to edit layouts either in general, or layout by layout.

I would suggest that you run an opening script that looks at some feature of the user, whether PrivilegeSetName, AccountName or other, and sends them to the layout you want them to start at.

Is this what you're after?

• 3. Re: User access to file
              MikePR_1

Ttops: