7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2014 8:38 AM by HarryFisher

User Defined Find

HarryFisher

Title

User Defined Find

I am new to filemaker and am more familiar with using MS Access

How do I ask the user of my DB to define a find ?

I would like to ask " Please enter week number" and the "please enter Customer Name"

this will then perform the required find and return a layout based on this information.

I think this will be based on a script but can't find out how to do it.

Thanks

H

• 1. Re: User Defined Find
          philmodjunk

Welcome to one of the most basic differences between the two systems. In FileMaker you have built in support for "ad hoc" user searches of your database that require zero programming effort on your part. They can simply enter find mode, specify some criteria and perform the find. The Found Set will then update to just the records matching their specified criteria. And we developers need not do a thing to make that happen.

But if you want a script supported find where the user is asked for specific information and then the script performs the find, this can also be done. It can be a great way to make finds less confusing to the user.

First, see the scripted find examples in this thread: Scripted Find Examples

In these examples, users enter search criteria into one or more global fields while in Browse mode and then the script enters find mode, sets up the needed search criteria in one or more find requests and performs the find.

You then have multiple options for how to "ask" the user for this criteria.

Show Custom Dialog can include up to three input fields--which can be up to three global fields to use with such a find script.

New Window can open a new window with a different FileMaker Layout where you have placed these global fields. This takes more scripting, but because you are using a FileMaker layout, you can use value lists, conditional formatting, etc to make things more user friendly.