12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2011 5:55 AM by LarrySanders

Using a different record in calculation.

LarrySanders

Title

Using a different record in calculation.

I am new at this. Please help!

In my Table, I have Row data defined by Year.

Year       Capital      Income      Return on Capital(which is calculated)

2000       196            90

2001       320            158          (Current Year Income/Previouse Year Capital)

The problem I have is this:

I need to set up a Calculation Field, Return on Capital, that uses current year's income divided by previouse year's Capital. The correct number is 0.806122. But I do not know how to do it with FM Pro 11.

Your help is greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Using a different record in calculation.
          Sorbsbuster

Do you have only one record for 2000, and one for 2001?  or at least can you define a relationship (I dunno... CustomerID ->CustomerID?) which will get the records for that customer (project, asset type..., whatever)?

Create a calculation YearPrevious = Year - 1

Create a relationship from the table to itself that includes the relationship criterion:

CapitalTable::YearPrevious = CapitalTable2::Year  (CapitalTable2 is a second Table Occurance of the table CapitalTable)

Then for any record you can see the return on capital - it is:

Income / Capital <--- where that capital figure is picked up from the relationship you just created

• 2. Re: Using a different record in calculation.
            LarrySanders

Thank you very kindly for your replay. I am not equiped to understand this yet. I don't know what is Table Occurance and how to populate CapitalTable2. It all sounds very logical, but it is not happening for me.

Perhaps my thinking is on the wrong path.

I have 3 tables, which really should be one. I did not want too many fields in one table because I import all updates from Excel, too many fields are difficult to manage.