13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2015 8:08 AM by JarvisSeabolt

Using a scrip to find the current parent record

JarvisSeabolt

Title

Using a scrip to find the current parent record

I'm new to Filemaker. I have a parent record with related portal records on a layout.  I need to make the current selection of parent records one record and I want it to be a click on the current page and the parent record being viewed be the one found record. I think a Perform Find should work but I can't figure how to tell the Perform Find to find the current record. Thanks

• 1. Re: Using a scrip to find the current parent record
          SteveMartino

1.  Why?  Why do you need to do this?  I think what you are trying to say is you have a found set of records.  But you want to change the found set of records to isolate and only show the current record?  On the same layout? The easiest, if the DB is a single user, would be thru the toolbar.  While you are on the record you want to isolate, SHOW ALL RECORDS, OMIT RECORD, SHOW OMITTED ONLY.  You could also do this with a script and a script parameter, the script parameter can be the primary key field, and the script can be, ENTER FIND MODE[ ], SET FIELD [YourTable::Primary KeyField; Get(ScriptParameter)], PERFORM FIND[ ]

Or you can make a script, that does the show all, omit record, show omitted only, and put it on a button

• 2. Re: Using a scrip to find the current parent record
            JarvisSeabolt