1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2011 8:25 AM by philmodjunk

Using a script to populate two fields

EmmettOliver

Title

Using a script to populate two fields

Hi,

I have two tables (screen shot below).  I have a drop down list for the counties that would be user selected.  I want to use the selection from the user in the "County" field of the "Table" table (I know its crazy but I inherited the db) to set the fields "County Code" and "Region".  The idea is to make data entry easier and more efficient.  So, I tried using if then statements but that didn't work.  Should I be using the "Set Field" script and use a GTRR calculation.  Also, I am new to FM and scripts.  Any help would be much appreciated.

FM_Tables.GIF

• 1. Re: Using a script to populate two fields
          philmodjunk

Change your relationship to just:

Table::County = County Information::County

You should then remove the county code and region from the Table named table as it is redundant info that you don't need, but before you do, you'll need to review your layouts, scripts, calculations etc. and replace the table copies of these fields with the corresponding fields in County Information.

PS. And if "count code" should be an auto-entered serial number field defined in County Information, I'd use it instead of County in this relationship.

• 2. Re: Using a script to populate two fields
            LaRetta_1

Phil said, "You should then remove the county code and region from the Table named table as it is redundant info that you don't need,"

... and instead just now place the County fields directly onto your table layout for display.  Be sure to turn off entry to those fields.  You can also just place merge fields from the County table instead of fields themselves. Laughing

• 3. Re: Using a script to populate two fields
              EmmettOliver