3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2010 2:20 PM by philmodjunk

Using a tabbed control in a master/detail relationship

Desmodromic

Title

Using a tabbed control in a master/detail relationship

Hello all,

I'm new to Filemaker --coming from long experience with Access. I'm very comfortable and familiar with relational database concepts. I've run into a situation in Filemake that has me confused. I have a master/detail relationship in a customer database. I want to show customer master info at the top of a form (i.e. company name, address, phone, etc.) and then, below that, have a tabbed form that contains portals so that I can scroll through multiple detail records that concern a particular customer. This is easy to accomplish in Access with a master/tabbed subform relationship. I can't seem to accomplish this in Filemaker. It seems the only way to view detail information in Filemaker is in multiple rows within a portal. That's not a very convenient way to view the info I need to track. Can anyone assist? I've searched and searched my reference books and queried every google description of the problem I can think of. 

Example.jpg

• 1. Re: Using a tabbed control in a master/detail relationship
          philmodjunk

If it's a one to one relationship, no portal is needed. You can simply place fields from a related table occurrence directly on your layout. From your screen shot, that appears to be what you have done in the above screen shot as I see fields with ::at the start, but no portal visible.

If it's a one to many relationship and you need to see all the related records, use a portal. Portals are not limited to a table like format of multiple narrow rows. You can resize the height of the row and reduce the number of rows displayed to get a "form view" of the related records