4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2014 11:03 AM by philmodjunk

using an existing unique number as primary key.

nickphillips

Title

using an existing unique number as primary key.

I am a doctor and have a list of patients with pre existing patient numbers which are important for anonymisation. I would like to use this number as the primary key to link demographic data on several tables. Searching it seems that FMP usualy likes to generate its own serial number as the primary key. Is there a way I can use the pre existing unique patient number ?.

• 1. Re: using an existing unique number as primary key.
          MarcMcCall

If it is a unique number and set as a unique number in the field settings, yes you can use it as a primary key to relate records in another table.

If you do not have a primary key set up currently for that table you can also create one separate for just the key and use the replace field contents while showing all records and replace using the serial numbers to set values to all of your records then use this for the key instead of the patient number. This would be an auto increment number and might be easier to keep your database working in case the patient number is not an auto increment.

• 2. Re: using an existing unique number as primary key.
            philmodjunk

It's really not a good idea to use an ID generated from outside of a database--any database, not just FileMaker. Primary keys form the crucial "back bone" of your relationships and you really, really do not want to introduce possible issues where might be the slightest chance that you'll have to change the value of a primary key after it as been created and used to link a record to foreign keys in other tables.

By all means, put such a field in your database and enter or import the number. You can use it for searching, sorting, value lists, etc, but just don't use it as your primary key.