3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2012 12:21 PM by philmodjunk

Using checkboxes for find/filter

RyanSoulard

Title

Using checkboxes for find/filter

Hello all,
           I am new to filemaker, and need some help setting up a script (or anything else) that will take values from a checkbox and display only the records that have matching criteria to at least one of the values selected from the checkbox. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

• 1. Re: Using checkboxes for find/filter
          philmodjunk

I suggest that you give that check box global storage if it is only used to specify find criteria. That is the assumption that I am using with this script:

Enter Find Mode []----> clear the pause check box
               If [ valueCount ( YourTable::YourcheckboxField ) > 1]
                 Loop
                    Set Variable [$K ; value: $K + 1 ]
                    Set Field [ YourTable::YourField ; getvalue ( YourTable::YourCheckBoxField ; $K ) ]
                    Exit Loop If [$K = ValueCount ( YourTable::YourcheckBoxField ) ]
                    New Record/Request
                 End Loop
               End If
               Set Error Capture [on]
               Perform Find[]

• 2. Re: Using checkboxes for find/filter
            RyanSoulard

Thanks! This was very helpful. However, It still doesn't do what I need it to. It works when I modify the check box the first time but then it just does nothing. Also I think I may not have the checkbox set for global storage. How do I check/set that?

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Using checkboxes for find/filter
              philmodjunk

Open manage | database | Fields and find the checkbox field.

Double click it.

In the field options dialog that appears, select the storage tab and select the check box for global storage.