1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2014 5:52 PM by bluorchid

Using GTRR in a tabbed panel

bluorchid

Title

Using GTRR in a tabbed panel

Aloha

Am trying to get a portal button to GTRR  within in the same tabbed panel.  Further details.   Table "APADx" has a portal which shows some of the fields of the table.  I want to be able to select a record and have it displayed above within the same tabbed panel.   The "Evaluations Layout" has its associated table as "GAINSS", which is another tabbed panel.   What do I need to change to get this to work?  Please bear in mind, I am a total novice with FM12

apa_issue.jpg

• 1. Re: Using GTRR in a tabbed panel
          philmodjunk

Go To Related Records cannot be used for that purpose. It's not what it was designed to do.

Your layout looks very strange. A portal is intended as a way for you to see and edit data from a related table where you may have many records from the portal table that are related to the current record of the layout where you placed the portal. You appear to have a number of repeating fields above the portal. What exactly are you trying to do with this portal and these fields?

• 2. Re: Using GTRR in a tabbed panel
            bluorchid

Additionally,  I have a "APADx"  table in the background which is not viewed by users.  It pulls the correct record to that table layout and I am unable to access the "Evaluations Layout" from within the GTRR command.

• 3. Re: Using GTRR in a tabbed panel
              bluorchid

the portal will show all the records of APADx and allow me to select on which I can review in full.  Some of the fields have 10 repetitions and I want to be able to see all of them at one time

• 4. Re: Using GTRR in a tabbed panel
                philmodjunk

I strongly recommend that you restructure your tables and relationships to not use repeating fields. Using Repeating fields gives up a lot of flexibility when entering and analyzing your data.