6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2011 9:14 AM by WilfriedSip

using invoice , how do I select from multiple prices?

unicorn

Title

using invoice , how do I select from multiple prices?

Using filemaker pro11 and an absolute beginner.

Basically I am trying to set up an invoicing system using the standard template and then modifying it.

I have 4 types of customers and 4 different  prices for each product. I have inherited all the customers details in the form of a spreadsheet so I am able to import them into the customers section. The question is how do I first differentiate the customers into their various groups (radio buttons?) and then when making an invoice enable it to select the correct price to be used for the customer i.e retail price or trade price depending on the type of customer. Any help would be appreciated:smileyhappy:

• 1. Re: using invoice , how do I select from multiple prices?
          philmodjunk

I haven't played around with the invoicing template so you'll need to check my assumptions as we go...

"how do I first differentiate the customers into their various groups"?

You'll need a field in your customer table where you can assign a value that identifies the type of customer. You add this field first to the table in Manage | Database | Fields and then add it to any layouts where you need this. You can format the field to use a value list such as radio buttons if you want and this is a good way to reduce data-entry errors by limiting possible inputs to just a few choices.

"...and then when making an invoice enable it to select the correct price..."

I'm assuming that the customer category determines the specific unit price to be used for all the products listed in one invoice. You'll need a products table that lists ProductID, CustomerCategory and UnitPrice. Your template may have such a table where you can add a CustomerCategory field or you may need to define this table.