3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2011 10:39 AM by philmodjunk

Using Invoices Template for Stock Management

AnthonyHolt

Title

Using Invoices Template for Stock Management

I've been editing the Invoices template slightly to try and tweak it for use with equipment rental.

I'm currently having trouble doing two things...

'Posting' invoices or quotes, in the sense that I can kind of click a button that oks it. At the minute it just kind of autosaves or I can print it.

Stock Management - Nothing I do seem to affect the amount of stock.

I'm very new to the software and wondered if anyone could help?

• 1. Re: Using Invoices Template for Stock Management
          philmodjunk

The Invoices starter solution doesn't do a very good job of managing inventory levels. It's easy for user errors to either not deduct the quantity sold or to deduct the amount sold more than once for a given invoice. I haven't looked at this recently, but I seem to recall there's a field in the products table that controls whether or not it is an inventoried item...

What do you want to see when you "post" an invoice that isn't taking place with this starter solution?

• 2. Re: Using Invoices Template for Stock Management
            AnthonyHolt

More about stock levels than anything, effectively uintil it's 'posted' as such it shouldn't affect my stock level as until then it's just a quote or pro forma. Once it's posted the job is effectively out and the stock should alter.

I haven't done too much work so far, would you perhaps recommend a different starter solution for me? I need to do the following...

Manage stock of rental equipment

Do quotes for clients

be able to pull up a piece of equipment and see whether it's availalble and where it is.

Is there something similar?

• 3. Re: Using Invoices Template for Stock Management
              philmodjunk