7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2012 9:35 AM by TedKraus

using key fields to share calculated data between two tables

TedKraus

Title

using key fields to share calculated data between two tables

HI.  New to this site, so please bear with me.

I am a teacher who has created a database for my grades.  I have a final project that is team based, and I would like to create a table where I can calculate the grades of the final project, one for each team, and then have that information show up in the main table.

I have successfully created a simple key field using sequencial numbers, but I cannot replicate it using a caluculated field.  Could someone walk me through this, or tell me that FMP does not allow this to be done?

Thanks in advance.

Great forum by the way.  Very helpful.

• 1. Re: using key fields to share calculated data between two tables
          philmodjunk

Please describe your database in more detail.

What tables have you created?

How are they linked in relationships?

Please explain what you want to do.

Why do you need to "repliate" sequential numbers with a calculation?

Explain what results you want to see as though your were working out the math "on paper" instead of in the database.

• 2. Re: using key fields to share calculated data between two tables
            TedKraus

I have created a database for keeping track of my dtudents grades?  I have successfully used to track "one-to-one" relationships. such as individual homework assignements within each students "grade sheet."  Within this table, I have created a layout for the final project, and then transfered the total from that layout to the summary sheet.  This semester, however, I hit a snag.