5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2013 10:17 AM by philmodjunk

Using Multiple Serial Numbers based on a field

AntonRiehl

Title

Using Multiple Serial Numbers based on a field

Hello,

I'm relatively new to setting up a database in Filemaker, and I have run into an issue while trying to generate serial numbers. I am creating a database of music, and need to have different serial numbers for every song based on genre.

For example, if I have 4 genres: Rock, Pop, Classical, and Country I need to have an incremental code per genre like RCK0001, RCK0002, RCK0003, POP0001, CLSCL0001, CNTRY0001, etc. Is there an easy way to make this happen?

I also have a running serial number that is based on year such as ISRC1300001 (where the first 4 characters are a code, the 13 is the year, and the 00001 is the serial number). I already have this portion working, but I need to have the serial number 000001 reset when the year changes to 2014. I know this should be done with a script, but I can't quite figure that out. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

(p.s. sorry for bringing up the similar topic of serial numbers, I just wasn't able to find this particular topic among the numerous existing topics...) 

• 1. Re: Using Multiple Serial Numbers based on a field
          philmodjunk

It's a question that has been asked a number of times before. You'll need to answer a few questions first?

Why do you need to set up such serial numbers (both those that have a different series and text for every genre and the one that needs to start over with every year)?

What problems do they solve for you that can't be managed from a simple serial number--something that is far simpler and safer to implement?

Whatever you do, I strongly recommend that you not use either of these as match fields in your main relationships. In more technical terms, don't use them as primary keys.