7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2012 1:02 PM by rmercado

Using relational database to track changes

JessicaBrogan

Title

Using relational database to track changes

Hi,

I'm new to setting up relational databases.  I have a database in place with one table that contains 85 fields of information.  I want to be able to track every time a change is  made within this table.  I know how to create an auto enter modified by field and an auto enter modified timestamp field.  Those two fields work just fine, but every time someone new makes a change, the modified by and modified timestamp is overwritten with the user name and time stamp of whoever last modified the record.  I need a way to track every time a modification was made to the record and who modified the record.  Nothing I have tried has worked.  I'm thinking that I need a separate table that creates a new record each time a record in my original table is modified.  In the new table I want to be able to see the unique value assigned to the record that was modified and a history of every time a modification was made to the record.  I would prefer to have only one record in my second table for each record that was modified that listed  multiple modifications.  Help!!!

Thanks,

Jess

• 1. Re: Using relational database to track changes
          JessicaBrogan

I forgot to mention I'm using FM Pro 11 Advanced on a Mac.  I'm not sure which version of OSX I'm running.

Thanks,

Jess

• 2. Re: Using relational database to track changes
            philmodjunk

This is not a simple thing to do.

The script trigger OnRecordCommit could be used to log User Account Name and the current time stamp in a related table.

Tracking all changes to all fields?