2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2011 4:55 PM by krancmm_1

Using the list view to show several entries that share a comman fields (purchase req database)

ChrisPardy

Title

Using the list view to show several entries that share a comman fields (purchase req database)

Hi there,

I am a FMP newbie, I just learned the basics using an online coarse (lynda.com) and it has been great but I can't seem to make sense of this one and I am afraid I may have done something wrong at the outset of my design.

So I am making a purchase requisition database.

When a new record is created it is automatically given a serial number PR 001 ect.

Using a portal to a line items table the user can enter several line items that will all share the same PR number

the line item table is related to the PR table by the serial number.

So when I try to crate a list view showing all of the line items in a single pr that share the same serial it does not work and only shows me the first line item from each PR.

I imagine that this is something silly that I don't understand as of yet... any help would be appriciated, please let me know If i need to give any more details.

Thanks,

Chris

• 1. Re: Using the list view to show several entries that share a comman fields (purchase req database)
          philmodjunk

Just creating the layout is not enough. You also have to perform a find, (by hand or in a script) or use Go To Related Records in a script to pull up those records in a found set.

A scripted find might look similar to this:

Set variable [$PR ; Value::PRTable::PR Number]
          Go To Layout [Line Items]//specify the layout based on line items that you want to use here
          Enter Find Mode [] //clear the pause check box
          Set Field [LineItems::PR Number ; $PR]
          Set Error Capture [on]
          Perform Find[]

Note: this 6 line script can be replaced with a one line script that uses Go To Related Records.