1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2009 12:26 PM by lkn4atlantis

Validation Calculation

lkn4atlantis

Title

Validation Calculation

I'm sure this is an extremely basic question to most of you, but i am extremely new to filemaker (I'm creating my first file). Anyway, what I want to do is have a validation in one of the fields  so when you type a number in it, it has to be equal to or less than another field.  In other words, I have a list of a card collection that I am selling. I have a column for the name, type, # of cards, value, ect.  I have another field for when someone wants to buy a card, obviously they can't buy more cards than what I have, ergo, the field must be equal to or less than the number of cards I have. I would appreciate any help.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Validation Calculation
          philmodjunk

Use a validate by calculation field option:

Self < NumberField

Put the name of your other field in place of "NumberField"

You can then set a custom validation message to tell the user why it's an error.

You'll also probably want to uncheck the "allow user to override during data entry" option.

• 2. Re: Validation Calculation
            lkn4atlantis

First off thank you for your reply.

Second, I'm having trouble understanding what you're saying.

I go to file - Define fields, Click on the field name I want to set a calculation for (# buying) then options. Validation tab - Validation by calculation. The Specify Calculation box comes up... That's where I get lost.  I tried typing "Self < # of cards (# of cards being the field it must be equal to or less than). When I click Ok   I get an error that states "This field cannot be found".

What am I doing wrong? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Validation Calculation
              philmodjunk

I'm using FMP 10, if you are using an older version, you may have to rewrite the expression as:

Try

# buying < # of cards