5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2010 3:29 PM by philmodjunk

validation script or calculation???

bate01

Title

validation script or calculation???

Hello - I have an issue where I need to have my parent database compare fields to see if the building and room listed for an employee matches the building and room data in a related facility db. If they don't match then it needs to create a flag (an x or something like that in a field) so that the user can double check the data. 

What is the best way to go about this? What I tried failed so I am stumped.

I am new to calc fields - using FileMaker 10 that is hosted on FileMaker server. Also, I use a Mac.

Any help is appreciated as I am not sure how to proceed.

• 1. Re: validation script or calculation???
          philmodjunk

In a calculation field you could use:

If ( ParentField1 ≠ RelatedTable::Field1 Or parentField2 ≠ RelatedTable::Field2 ; "Error" ; "" )

There are even ways to have the field display a graphic image instead of text with this method or you can use the first parameter of the above If function in a conditional format expression to highlight the field or fields in question. (If I used that approach, I'd use separate conditional formats for each pair of fields so that only the questionable fields would highlight.)

• 2. Re: validation script or calculation???
            bate01

Thank you for the advice. I must have entered something wrong as I  cannot get it to calc correctly if I have it set up just like it is  below

If ( ParentBuilding1 ≠ RelatedTable::Building1 Or  parentRoom2 ≠ RelatedTable::Room2 ; "Error" ; "" ) - it will put error  in the field of data validation but if I only have it checking one field  [example: If ( ParentField1 ≠ RelatedTable::Field1; "Error" ; "" ) ] it  works where it only puts the error in if the fields don't match. Once I  add the second portion it puts error in all records. 

I am not sure what I did wrong.

• 3. Re: validation script or calculation???