3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2011 11:43 AM by philmodjunk

Value lists as text coding as numbers

StuartLockhart

Title

Value lists as text coding as numbers

Hi there, I am new to FileMaker Pro and need to get this figured out by a deadline tomorrow. I have completed a database from a survey with over 100 fields. Many of the fields use the same value lists. As an example there are 14 different communites in the "communities" value lists that come through in a drop down menus. This is done several times through the survey. I have need to keep the option for "other" for those infrequent communities. My question is how do I have the communities be encoded as numbers? I am using FileMaker Pro 11.0v3. Also, when the other option is chosen and an obscure community is typed in, that needs to come through as a text value, not a numeric one. 

Whoever could help me I would be forever greatful!! We are a small business without a tech person --> I am it!

• 1. Re: Value lists as text coding as numbers
          philmodjunk

Hmmm, your database design, (Survey with over a hundred fields), makes this more difficult than it needs to be.

Are these single value fields or can some of the store more than one value? (Such as selecting two or more checkboxes in a single field...)

What do the numbers represent? Do you want a count of how many times a specific value was selected or are these to be codes that uniquely identify each value with a number?

• 2. Re: Value lists as text coding as numbers
            StuartLockhart

Most are single value fields, though I have some checkboxes where selection of two or more can occur. Yes, so for the third community on the dropdown list coming up as Yorktown, I would want a '3' to be displayed in the database. That is my main issue

• 3. Re: Value lists as text coding as numbers
              philmodjunk