3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2014 8:07 AM by philmodjunk

Variable lookup

CKA

Title

Variable lookup

I am very new to Filemaker.    I have a table with a field for medication class and one for medication.    In another table, I can look up the classes and choose from a drop down, but in that same table in the medication field I would like to show only the medications from the class chosen in the first field.   I haven't  been able to get this to work correctly.   Thanks!

• 1. Re: Variable lookup
          philmodjunk

but in that same table in the medication field I would like to show only the medications from the class chosen in the first field.

If by that you mean that you want a value list in a drop down or other format that is only medications from the class chosen in the first field, this is called a conditional value list.

Here are my current resources for conditional value lists:

There's a lot of overlap between the first two links so you can read one and skim the other. The demo file gives you several examples of different conditional value lists so you can examine them to see how they are set up. If you are using FileMaker 12 or later, you can open this demo file from your File menu to get a converted copy of the demo file that you can examine in your version of FileMaker.

The next to last link discusses how to set up a chain of conditional value lists where the value selected in each conditional value list controls the values listed in the next value list and the very last link is a fairly new addition that describes how to use ExecuteSQL to produce conditional value lists that aren't easily possible with the other methods described here.

Forum Tutorial: Custom Value List?

Knowledgebase article: http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5833/kw/conditional%20value%20list

Demo File: https://www.dropbox.com/s/j6qf0z9fnem3uxd/ConditionalValueListDemo.fp7

Hierarchical Conditional Value lists: Conditional Value List Question